Select Page


APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on “View Committee” below.

Learn how to serve on an APSA committee

Access to Surgery for Kids

View Committee

Jonathan Kohler – Chair
Mary Fallat – Vice Chair
Ken Gow – Vice Chair

APSA and SVS Pediatric Vascular Disease Task Force

Dawn Coleman – Lead
Regan Williams – Co-Lead
David Rothstein – Co-Lead

Audit Committee

View Committee

Colin Knight – Chair
William Middlesworth – Vice Chair

Benjy Brooks Committee

View Committee

Erin E. Perrone – Chair
Claudia Emami – Vice Chair


View Committee

David Powell – Chair


View Committee

David A. Rodeberg – Chair
Jennifer Aldrink – Vice Chair

Childhood Obesity

View Committee

Mark L. Wulkan – Chair
Thomas H. Inge – Vice Chair

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

View Committee

Kathryn Martin – Chair
Morgan Richards – Vice Chair

Education Committee

View Committee

Eunice Y. Huang – Chair
Grace Mak – Vice Chair


View Committee

Patrick J. Javid – Chair
Erica M. Carlisle – Vice Chair

Fetal Diagnosis and Treatment

View Committee

Rony Marwan – Chair
Darrell L. Cass – Vice Chair


View Committee

Marjorie J. Arca – Chair

Global Pediatric Surgery

View Committee

Tamara Fitzgerald – Chair
Sanjay Krishnaswami – Vice Chair

Health Policy and Advocacy

View Committee

Kenneth W. Gow – Chair
Joanne Baerg – Vice Chair

History Committee

View Committee

Kristen A. Zeller – Chair

Industry and Institutional Advisory

View Committee

James K. Wall – Chair

Membership & Credentials

View Committee

Samuel Z. Soffer – Chair
Peter Midulla – Vice Chair

New Technology

View Committee

Bethany J. Slater – Chair
Brian Gulack – Vice Chair


View Committee

Erika Newman – Chair

Outcomes and Evidence-Based Practice

View Committee
Eblast Subcommittee
IT/Website Subcommittee
Survey Subcommittee

Robert J. Baird – Chair
Lorraine Kelly-Quon – Vice Chair

Practice Committee

View Committee

John C. Bleacher – Chair
Mauricio A. Escobar – Vice Chair

Professional Development Committee

View Committee

Craig W. Lillehei – Co-Chair
Charles L. Snyder – Co-Chair


View Committee

Kathleen Van Leeuwen – Chair
Marion Henry – Vice Chair


View Committee

Cassandra M. Kelleher – Chair
Romeo C. Ignacio – Vice Chair

Research Committee

View Committee

Shaun M. Kunisaki – Chair
Harold Lovvorn – Vice Chair

Right Child/Right Surgeon Task Force

View Committee

John Waldhausen – Chair

Surgical Critical Care

View Committee

Laura A. Boomer– Chair
Adam Vogel – Vice Chair

Surgical Quality & Safety

View Committee
Quality in Value Award Subcommittee

Mehul V. Raval – Chair
Monica E. Lopez – Vice Chair


View Committee

Christian J. Streck – Chair
Regan Williams – Vice Chair

Wellness Committee

View Committee

Kurt F. Heiss – Chair
Terry Buchmiller – Vice Chair


View Committee

Samuel M. Alaish – Chair
Abigail E. Martin – Vice Chair