Select Page


APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.


The APSA Education Committee will optimize the surgical care of children and promote patient safety by cultivating educational programs that address the ongoing needs of the practicing pediatric surgeon, surgical residents and students, surgical patients and their families as well as the public.

STEPS Toolbox Educational Resource

The APSA Education Committee has designed the Standardized Toolbox of Education for Pediatric Surgery (STEPS), PowerPoint web-based teaching tools to serve as a resource for faculty and senior residents to use for teaching medical students and junior residents. View the STEPS materials for: abdominal masses of childhood, abdominal wall defects, appendicitis, esophageal atresias and tracheo esophageal fistulas, hernias, imperforate anus, intestinal atresia and necrotizing enterocolitis.

Informatics and Telemedicine Subcommittee

Patient/Family Subcommittee

Social Media/Distribution Subcommittee

Students/Residents Education Sub-Committee

Practice Surgeons Subcommittee

Rural Surgery Subcommittee