Select Page


APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

The mission of the Health Policy and Advocacy Committee is to provide education for American Pediatric Surgical Association members regarding the intersection between public policy and our health care system and to support the Association’s leadership as it seeks to influence public policy related to the health and wellbeing of children.

Advocacy Resources

For the convenience of the membership, the APSA Health Policy and Advocacy Committee has created a list of resources to inform members, non-member professionals, learners and parents about APSA’s position on current advocacy issues in children’s surgical care and also to provide useful resources to provide further information and advocacy opportunities for various children’s advocacy issues, both within and outside of APSA.


Max R. Langham – Liaison
University of Tennessess Health Science Center

Joseph P. Vacanti – Liaison
Massachusetts General Hospital

Kathryn D. Bass – Chair
Oishei Children’s Hospital

Kenneth W. Gow – Vice Chair
University of Washington

William T. Adamson – Member
Nemours Children’s Hospital

Joanne E. Baerg – Member

Elizabeth A. Berdan – Member
Mary Bridge Children’s Hospital

Megan E. Bouchard – Member

Danielle Dougherty – Member

Loretto A. Glynn – Member

Joshua N. Honeyman – Member
Hasbro Children’s Hospital

Danielle M. Hsu – Member
Texas Children’s Hospital

Mark A. Kashtan – Member

J. Leslie Knod – Member
Connecticut Children’s Hospital

Ruth Lewit – Member

Linda T. Li – Member
UT Health Science Center

Jeffrey R. Lukish – Member
Children’s National

Louis M. Marmon – Member
Children’s National Medical Center

Christopher S. Muratore – Member
Stony Brook Pediatric Surgery

Akila B. Ramaraj – Member
Seattle Children’s Hospital

Dorothy V. Rocourt – Member
Penn State Hershey Children’s Hospital

Saurabh Saluja – Member

Chethan J. Sathya – Member
Cohen Children’s Medical Center, Northwell Health, New York

Sarah Stokes – Member

Patrick Bailey – Ex Officio

Mary E. Fallat – Ex Officio
Norton Children’s Hospital

Marion C. Henry – Ex Officio
University of Arizona

Charles D. Vinocur – Ex Officio
AI DuPont Hospital for Children