Select Page

SURGICAL QUALITY & SAFETY COMMITTEE

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

Vision: a declaration of mid- or long-term goals. The vision of the APSA Quality and Safety Committee is to improve the quality and safety of all of children’s surgery. The committee will serve the APSA membership as the leaders, innovators, and resource for patient safety and the highest quality of care through education, training, and mentorship. Mission: statement of purpose. The overall mission of the Quality and Safety Committee is to develop, support and promote initiatives and programs that serve to improve the quality and safety of pediatric surgical care. The purpose of the committee is to: – Educate the APSA membership on the fundamental principles of patient safety & quality improvement. – Promote participation in programs that monitor quality & safety in surgical practice, particularly those that provide a benchmarking framework for comparative performance analyses and collaborative knowledge-sharing. – Support efforts that promote high-value surgical care, with an emphasis on improving outcomes while at the same time reducing resource utilization. – Define safety standards and other quality benchmarks for pediatric surgical conditions.

The APSA Quality and Safety Committee aims to develop, support and promote initiatives that lead to improvements in the quality of pediatric surgical care. The committee encourages participation in programs that measure and monitor quality and safety in surgical practice. The committee works to define safety standards and other quality benchmarks for pediatric surgical conditions, and to provide educational opportunities for APSA membership on the principles of quality improvement.

To support its mission, the APSA Surgical Quality and Safety Committee has created the following resources exclusively for APSA members:

 

  • Quality & Safety Toolkit – everything you need to implement a QI project, including contact lists of surgeon implementers, protocols, patient and provider education, and published outcomes.
  • Resources for quality and safety education – links to resources, seminars, checklists, safe handoffs and other team-based safety interventions
  • ACS verification – learn about the Task Force for Children’s Surgical Care

Members

Maria Cho – Friend of Committee
Maria.Cho@insideoutmedicine.com

Mehul V. Raval – Chair
Lurie Children’s of Chicago
mraval@luriechildrens.org

Monica E. Lopez – Vice Chair
Texas Children’s Hospital
melopez@texaschildrens.org

Hira Ahmad – Member
Nationwide Children’s Hospital
HiraAhmad86@gmail.com

Steven W. Bruch – Member
Univ of Michigan
sbruch@med.umich.edu

Henry L. Chang – Member
Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital
henrylchang@gmail.com

Catherine C. Chen – Member
Children’s Hosp Boston
catherine.chen@childrens.harvard.edu

Jason C. Fisher – Member
NYU Langone Medical Center
jason.fisher@nyumc.org

Colleen M. Fitzpatrick – Member
collfitz@yahoo.com

Mollie R. Freedman-Weiss – Member
Mollie.Freedman-Weiss@Yale.edu

Jeffrey W. Gander – Member
University of Virginia Children’s Hospital
jg9br@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu

Grant H. Geissler – Member
St Joseph’s Childrens Hospital
Grant.Geissler@baycare.org

Raquel Gonzalez – Member
Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital
rgonza35@jhmi.edu

Erica R. Gross – Member
Stony Brook Children’s Hospital
erica.gross@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Martha-Conley Ingram – Member
martha.ingram1@northwestern.edu

Akemi L. Kawaguchi – Member
University of Texas HSC Houston
akemi.kawaguchi@uth.tmc.edu

Afif N. Kulaylat – Member
afif.kulaylat@gmail.com

Patricia “Patty” Lange – Member
Virginia Commonwealth Univ
patricia.lange@vcuhealth.org

Christopher S. Muratore – Member
Stony Brook Pediatric Surgery
Christopher.Muratore@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Gary Nace – Member
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
naceg@email.chop.edu

Michael Phillips – Member
The University of North Carolina School of Medicine
michael.r.phillips@gmail.com

Rebecca M. Rentea – Member
Children’s Mercy Hospital
rrentea@cmh.edu

Daniel S. Rhee – Member
Johns Hopkins
drhee1@jhmi.edu

Dorothy V. Rocourt – Member
Penn State Hershey Children’s Hospital
drocourt@hmc.psu.edu

Stephen B. Shew – Member
Stanford University School of Medicine
sbshew@stanford.edu

Kyle J. Van Arendonk – Member
Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
kvanarendonk@chw.org

Derek S. Wakeman – Member
University of Rochester School of Medicine
derek_wakeman@urmc.rochester.edu

Ryan Walk – Member
Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
ryanmwalk@gmail.com

Robert J. Baird – Ex Officio
BCCH – Surgery
robert.baird@cw.bc.ca

Loren Berman – Ex Officio
Nemours – A.I. DuPont Hospital for Children
loren.berman@nemours.org

Adam B. Goldin – Ex Officio
Seattle Childrens Hospital
adam.goldin@seattlechildrens.org

Kurt F. Heiss – Ex Officio
Emory Children’s Ctr/Atlanta Ped Surg PC
kurt.heiss@choa.org

Shawn J. Rangel – Ex Officio
Children’s Hospital Boston
shawn.rangel@childrens.harvard.edu

Shawn D. St. Peter – Ex Officio
Children’s Mercy Hosp
sspeter@cmh.edu

KuoJen Tsao – Ex Officio
The University of Texas McGovern Medical School
kuojen.tsao@uth.tmc.edu

Charles D. Vinocur – Ex Officio
AI DuPont Hospital for Children
cvinocur@Nemours.org