Select Page

NEW TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

The mission of the New Technology Committee is to update, inform, promote dialogue, and critically assess novel techniques and technologies in Pediatric Surgery so that our members can continue to provide the highest standards of care for infants and children. Mechanisms by which this committee shall achieve these tasks will include but not be limited to: critical review and evaluation of current and future approaches to pediatric surgical problems by systematic reviews; sponsoring surgical innovation and technology sessions within the APSA meetings; and updating membership on new and evolving techniques within our field. The production and publication of periodic reviews in the Journal of Pediatric Surgery, when relevant, is another method by which this committee will provide up to date analysis of technologies, devices, and surgical approaches for the entire APSA membership which is unlikely to be aware of the most current knowledge in these areas. Our committee hopes to provide a venue for review of these areas to the members so that our organization may be involved in the development and monitoring of potentially useful new technologies.

Innovative Therapy White Paper

The APSA New Technology Committee has provided a set of opinions/guidelines that can be used by APSA members and their institutions to inform and advice decision making related to the introduction and establishment of new technology into surgical practice. View the Innovative Therapy White Paper.

Members

Nam Nguyen – Chair
Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
nanguyen@chla.usc.edu

Bethany J. Slater – Vice Chair
University of Chicago
bjslater1@gmail.com

Shahab F. Abdessalam – Member
Children’s Hosp & Med Ctr of Omaha
sabdessalam@childrensomaha.org

Farokh R. Demehri – Member
Boston Children’s Hospital
farokh.demehri@childrens.harvard.edu

Brian Gulack – Member
Rush University Medical Center
brian_gulack@rush.edu

Carlos T. Huerta – Member
carlos.huerta@jhsmiami.org

Marcus Jarboe – Member
CS Mott Childrens Hospital
marjarbo@med.umich.edu

Jeffrey R. Lukish – Member
Children’s National
jlukish@childrensnational.org

Samir R. Pandya – Member
UT Southwestern
samir.pandya@utsouthwestern.edu

Numa P. Perez – Member
Massachusetts General Hospital
npperez@mgh.harvard.edu

Mikael Petrosyan – Member
Children’s National Med Ctr
mpetrosy@cnmc.org

Dorothy V. Rocourt – Member
Penn State Hershey Children’s Hospital
drocourt@hmc.psu.edu

Stefan Scholz – Member
Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
stefan.scholz@chp.edu

Bradley J. Segura – Member
University of MN
bjsegura@umn.edu

Anthony Tsai – Member
Penn State Hershey Medical Center
antsai@gmail.com

Gustavo Villalona – Member
Nemours/Wolfson Childrens Hospital
villalog@icloud.com

Nicole A. Wilson – Member
University of Rochester
nicole.wilson@rothaffinity.com

Edmund Y. Yang – Member
edmund.yangyibin@gmail.com