Select Page


APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

The mission of the New Technology Committee is to update, inform, promote dialogue, and critically assess novel techniques and technologies in Pediatric Surgery so that our members can continue to provide the highest standards of care for infants and children. Mechanisms by which this committee shall achieve these tasks will include but not be limited to: critical review and evaluation of current and future approaches to pediatric surgical problems by systematic reviews; sponsoring surgical innovation and technology sessions within the APSA meetings; and updating membership on new and evolving techniques within our field. The production and publication of periodic reviews in the Journal of Pediatric Surgery, when relevant, is another method by which this committee will provide up to date analysis of technologies, devices, and surgical approaches for the entire APSA membership which is unlikely to be aware of the most current knowledge in these areas. Our committee hopes to provide a venue for review of these areas to the members so that our organization may be involved in the development and monitoring of potentially useful new technologies.

Innovative Therapy White Paper

The APSA New Technology Committee has provided a set of opinions/guidelines that can be used by APSA members and their institutions to inform and advice decision making related to the introduction and establishment of new technology into surgical practice. View the Innovative Therapy White Paper.


Nam Nguyen – Chair
Children’s Hospital Los Angeles

Bethany J. Slater – Vice Chair
University of Chicago

Shahab F. Abdessalam – Member
Children’s Hosp & Med Ctr of Omaha

Farokh R. Demehri – Member
Boston Children’s Hospital

Brian Gulack – Member
Rush University Medical Center

Carlos T. Huerta – Member

Marcus Jarboe – Member
CS Mott Childrens Hospital

Jeffrey R. Lukish – Member
Children’s National

Samir R. Pandya – Member
UT Southwestern

Numa P. Perez – Member
Massachusetts General Hospital

Mikael Petrosyan – Member
Children’s National Med Ctr

Dorothy V. Rocourt – Member
Penn State Hershey Children’s Hospital

Stefan Scholz – Member
Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh

Bradley J. Segura – Member
University of MN

Anthony Tsai – Member
Penn State Hershey Medical Center

Gustavo Villalona – Member
Nemours/Wolfson Childrens Hospital

Nicole A. Wilson – Member
University of Rochester

Edmund Y. Yang – Member