Select Page

FETAL DIAGNOSIS & TREATMENT COMMITTEE

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

The mission of the Fetal Diagnosis and Therapy Committee is to help educate pediatric surgeons and their trainees in the area of fetal medicine. Further, the committee will collaborate with other organizations to help establish best practices for fetal therapy.

Prenatal Counseling Series

This new resource is developed as a quick reference for pediatric surgeons. Check back for new topics.

 

Fetal Diagnosis and Therapy: a Reference Handbook for Pediatric Surgeons 

This handbook is a ready reference that provides concise information about some of the more common fetal anomalies relevant to the pediatric surgeon. As the field is rapidly evolving, the contents of this handbook reflect the current knowledge and practice. As newer diagnostic capabilities and treatment modalities are discovered, this handbook will be updated as needed. This handbook will serve as a quick reference for the pediatric surgeon about to counsel a patient and a useful educational tool for the
residents and fellows in training. View the handbook.

    Fetal Diagnosis & Treatment Committee Literature Reviews

    The Fetal Diagnosis & Treatment Committee prepares regular literature reviews for APSA members which provide an overview of recent fetal research pertinent to all pediatric surgeons. The selections are compiled by members of the Fetal Diagnosis & Treatment Committee, but as a group, they are not endorsing the results of these studies as definitive practice. View the Fetal Diagnosis & Treatment Committee Literature Reviews.

      Members

      Max R. Langham – Liaison
      University of Tennessess Health Science Center
      mlangham@uthsc.edu

      Rony Marwan – Chair
      rony.marwan@gmail.com

      Darrell L. Cass – Vice Chair
      Cleveland Clinic
      cassd@ccf.org

      Adesola C. Akinkuotu – Member
      adesola_akinkuotu@med.unc.edu

      Fuad Alkhoury – Member
      Miami Children’s Hospital
      falkhoury@gmail.com

      Mary T. Austin – Member
      Univ of Texas Anderson Cancer Center
      mary.t.austin@uth.tmc.edu

      Manisha B. Bhatia – Member
      manishab917@gmail.com

      Sarkis C. Derderian – Member
      University of Colorado
      Sarkis.Derderian@childrenscolorado.org

      Brian W. Gray – Member
      Riley Hospital for Children
      graybw@iupui.edu

      Sundeep G. Keswani – Member
      Texas Children’s Hospital
      keswani@bcm.edu

      Alice King – Member
      aleung259@gmail.com

      Oluyinka O. Olutoye – Member
      Nationwide Childrens
      oolutoye@nationwidechildrens.org

      Nathan Rubalcava – Member
      nathanru@med.umich.edu

      Payam Saadai – Member
      UC Davis/Shriner’s Hospital
      psaadai@gmail.com

      Stephen B. Shew – Member
      Stanford University School of Medicine
      sbshew@stanford.edu

      Sarah Stokes – Member
      scstokes@ucdavis.edu

      Raphael Sun – Member
      Baylor College of Medicine -Texas Children’s Hospital
      raphaelsun@gmail.com

      Christina Theodorou – Member
      christina.theodorou@gmail.com

      Jesse Vrecenak – Member
      Washington University in St. Louis
      vrecenak@wustl.edu