Select Page

FETAL DIAGNOSIS & TREATMENT COMMITTEE

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

The mission of the Fetal Diagnosis and Therapy (FD&T) Committee is to establish evidence-based best practice guidelines in the area of fetal and perinatal medicine and educate the pediatric surgical community in the area of fetal medicine.  To achieve this goal, the FD&T Committee will build collaborations with other organizations to conduct high-quality clinical research in the field of fetal medicine.  The FD&T Committee will disseminate knowledge to the pediatric surgical community including pediatric surgeons, other healthcare practitioners, patients and their families.  The FD&T Committee will advocate for fetal patients, their families, and fetal providers within the pediatric surgical community.

Prenatal Counseling Series

This new resource is developed as a quick reference for pediatric surgeons. Check back for new topics.

 

Fetal Diagnosis and Therapy: a Reference Handbook for Pediatric Surgeons 

This handbook is a ready reference that provides concise information about some of the more common fetal anomalies relevant to the pediatric surgeon. As the field is rapidly evolving, the contents of this handbook reflect the current knowledge and practice. As newer diagnostic capabilities and treatment modalities are discovered, this handbook will be updated as needed. This handbook will serve as a quick reference for the pediatric surgeon about to counsel a patient and a useful educational tool for the
residents and fellows in training. View the handbook.

    Members

    Max R. Langham – Liaison
    University of Tennessess Health Science Center
    mlangham@uthsc.edu

    Rony Marwan – Chair
    rony.marwan@gmail.com

    Darrell L. Cass – Vice Chair
    Cleveland Clinic
    cassd@ccf.org

    Adesola C. Akinkuotu – Member
    adesola_akinkuotu@med.unc.edu

    Fuad Alkhoury – Member
    Miami Children’s Hospital
    falkhoury@gmail.com

    Mary T. Austin – Member
    Univ of Texas Anderson Cancer Center
    mary.t.austin@uth.tmc.edu

    Manisha B. Bhatia – Member
    manishab917@gmail.com

    Sarkis C. Derderian – Member
    University of Colorado
    Sarkis.Derderian@childrenscolorado.org

    Brian W. Gray – Member
    Riley Hospital for Children
    graybw@iupui.edu

    Sundeep G. Keswani – Member
    Texas Children’s Hospital
    keswani@bcm.edu

    Alice King – Member
    aleung259@gmail.com

    Oluyinka O. Olutoye – Member
    Nationwide Childrens
    oolutoye@nationwidechildrens.org

    Nathan Rubalcava – Member
    nathanru@med.umich.edu

    Payam Saadai – Member
    UC Davis/Shriner’s Hospital
    psaadai@gmail.com

    Stephen B. Shew – Member
    Stanford University School of Medicine
    sbshew@stanford.edu

    Sarah Stokes – Member
    scstokes@ucdavis.edu

    Raphael Sun – Member
    Baylor College of Medicine -Texas Children’s Hospital
    raphaelsun@gmail.com

    Christina Theodorou – Member
    christina.theodorou@gmail.com

    Jesse Vrecenak – Member
    Washington University in St. Louis
    vrecenak@wustl.edu