Select Page

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

The mission of the Publications Committee of the American Pediatric Surgical Association is the selection and thoughtful review all manuscripts considered for publication in the APSA edition of the Journal of Pediatric Surgery. The committee’s vision is to ensure that the most current and equitable standards for publication are maintained, with the goal of making the APSA edition the premiere annual publication from the Journal of Pediatric Surgery. All manuscripts are primarily reviewed by a minimum of 2 committee members and one chair/vice-chair. The review process occurs in 4 basic phases. During the first 2 phases the manuscripts are completely de-identified to the reviewers: Phase 1: Pre-view of the manuscript by the chair to ensure the work does not identify the authors or the institutions of the authors involved in the submission, and assignment to reviewers. Phase 2. On-line formal review by the assigned committee members and chair/vice-chair. Phase 3. A round-table presentation and discussion of the manuscript at the annual committee meeting. During this discussion the manuscripts most eligible for publication are identified. Following the meeting, manuscripts that are declined are sent back to the authors with constructive criticisms from the committee. Manuscripts under consideration for publication are sent back to the authors with comments for revision from the committee. Phase 4: Authors resubmit their revised work. The revisions include identifying information regarding the authors, institutions, funding sources and IRB approvals. Secondary review is then done by the assigned committee members, chair and vice-chairs and a final decision regarding publication is made. The chair ensures there are no conflicts of interest between reviewers and authors during the initial assignment phase. After that the chair is also blinded to authors and institutions for each submission. The committee also reviews the submission process annually to optimize the process and to facilitate the ease of submission and editorial review.

Members

John H. Waldhausen – Liaison
Seattle Children’s Hospital
john.waldhausen@seattlechildrens.org

Cassandra M. Kelleher – Chair
MassGeneral Hospital for Children
ckelleher3@partners.org

Romeo C. Ignacio – Vice Chair
rignacio1@rchsd.org

Adam M. Vogel – Vice Chair
Texas Children’s Hospital
amvogel@texaschildrens.org

Mohammed J. Aboud – Member
The Maternity and Child Teaching Hospital
mohammedabud@yahoo.com

Reto M. Baertschiger – Member
Hospital for Sick Children
reto.baertschiger@sickkids.ca

Erik R. Barthel – Member
Valley Children’s Hospital
ebarthel@gmail.com

Pavan Brahmamdam – Member
Beaumont Children’s Hospital
pbrahmamdam@gmail.com

Brian F. Gilchrist – Member
Richmond University Hospital
breedh@aol.com

David M. Gourlay – Member
Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
dgourlay@chw.org

Julia E. Grabowski – Member
Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
jgrabowski@luriechildrens.org

Nicholas A. Hamilton – Member
Oregon Health & Science University
hamilnic@ohsu.edu

Tim Jancelewicz – Member
Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital
tjancele@uthsc.edu

Nathan M. Novotny – Member
Beaumont Children’s Hospital
nathanmnovotny@gmail.com

Hannah G. Piper – Member
British Columbia Children’s Hospital
hannah.piper@cw.bc.ca

Edward P. Tagge – Member
Loma Linda Univ Children’s Hospital
etagge@llu.edu

Brent R. Weil – Member
Boston Children’s Hospital
brent.weil@childrens.harvard.edu