Select Page

OUTCOMES AND EVIDENCE-BASED PRACTICE COMMITTEE

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

The Outcomes and Evidence-based Practice Committee (OEBPC) will facilitate the efforts of APSA members either individually or as an organization to develop clinical outcomes data and evidence-based recommendations relevant to the practice of pediatric surgery. At the request of the APSA membership and/or the BOG of APSA, the OEBPC will serve to identify important areas of clinical guidelines and research in order to formulate and disseminate appropriate recommendations to assist APSA members in their practices. The OEBPC will be a central resource for APSA members to help promote clinical and outcomes research in pediatric surgery. The OEBPC will work collaboratively with other existing APSA committees to identify and address educational and/or programmatic needs and opportunities for the APSA membership as they relate to clinical outcomes.

New Pain Management Guidelines for Opioids in Pediatric Surgery

New pain management guidelines were published in JAMA Surgery and highlighted New York Times article. Watch APSA’s discussion below:

APSA Education Day Evidence Reviews

Each year this committee presents evidence reviews during the APSA Annual Meeting. Meeting attendees and APSA members can access the slide presentations through the community area.

Systematic Reviews

Systematic reviews are summaries of the medical literature that are performed using a thorough literature search. Each review addresses a clearly formulated question. Note: Systematic reviews aid, but do not replace, sound clinical reasoning.

OEBP Literature Reviews

This committee prepares monthly reviews of the scientific literature which is of interest to the pediatric surgeon’s practice, but which may be outside the usual literature sources that the pediatric surgeon surveys.  The selections are reviewed by the members of the OEBPC, but are not endorsed as definitive practice. These compilations are part of the committee’s goal to help identify best-practice and appropriate standards for clinical management of pediatric surgical disease. Continuing medical education maintenance of certification self-assessment credit for the literature reviews is available through APSA’s ExPERT CME Program. View the OEBP Literature Reviews

Surveys

This committee is dedicated to helping APSA membership identify best-practice and appropriate standards for clinical management of pediatric surgical disease. Often, the best evidence may consist of opinions and experiences of our membership. Correctly quantifying these experiences and opinions is of critical importance. One of the committee’s responsibilities, as assigned by the APSA Board of Governors, is to examine and approve surveys requested for distribution to the general membership. View the guidelines and surveys (APSA members only).

ExPERT CME Program

The APSA ExPERT (Exam-based Pediatric surgery Educational Reference Tool) CME platform can be used to earn MOC CME credits, as an information resource, as a real-time, point-of-care knowledge reference or all of the above. Learn more.

Members

Peter W. Dillon – Liaison
Penn State Health, Milton S. Hershey Med. Ctr., Penn State College of Medicine
pdillon1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu

Shawn D. St. Peter – Chair
Children’s Mercy Hosp
sspeter@cmh.edu

Robert J. Baird – Vice Chair
BCCH – Surgery
robert.baird@cw.bc.ca

Joanne E. Baerg – Member
joanne_elaine@verizon.net

Alana Beres – Member
University of California, Davis
aberes@ucdavis.edu

Sarkis C. Derderian – Member
University of Colorado
Sarkis.Derderian@childrenscolorado.org

Yue-Yung Hu – Member
Ann & Robert H Lurie Children’s Hospital
yueyunghu@luriechildrens.org

Akemi L. Kawaguchi – Member
University of Texas HSC Houston
akemi.kawaguchi@uth.tmc.edu

Lorraine Kelley-Quon – Member
Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles
lkquon@chla.usc.edu

Donald J. Lucas – Member
Naval Medical Center San Diego
donaldjaylucasjr@gmail.com

Jarod P. McAteer – Member
Providence Sacred Heart Children’s Hospital
jarod.mcateer@gmail.com

Doug Miniati – Member
Kaiser Permanente Roseville Women and Children’s Center
Doug.Miniati@kp.org

Elizabeth J. Renaud – Member
Albany Medical Center
elizabethjrenaud@gmail.com

Rebecca M. Rentea – Member
Children’s Mercy Hospital
rrentea@cmh.edu

Kristy Rialon – Member
Texas Children’s Hospital
kristy.rialon@gmail.com

Robert L. Ricca – Member
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
robricca@yahoo.com

Mark Slidell – Member
The University of Chicago
mslidell@gmail.com

Caitlin A. Smith – Member
caitlin.smith@seattlechildrens.org

Stig Somme – Member
The Children’s Hospital Denver
stigsomme@gmail.com

Elizabeth Speck – Member
C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital
speckk@med.umich.edu

Patricia A. Valusek – Member
Pediatric Surgical Associates, Ltd.
trish.valusek@gmail.com

Gustavo Villalona – Member
Nemours/Wolfson Childrens Hospital
villalog@icloud.com

Adam B. Goldin – Ex Officio
Seattle Childrens Hospital
adam.goldin@seattlechildrens.org