Select Page

TRAUMA COMMITTEE

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

The mission of the Trauma Committee is to improve child health by promoting injury prevention, developing and implementing practice guidelines for the care of the injured child and performing research that will lead to reduced morbidity and mortality after injury.

Trauma Committee Literature Reviews

This bi-annual review provides trauma related content pertinent to pediatric surgeons. The selections are compiled by members of the Trauma Committee, but as a group, they are not endorsing the results of these studies as definitive practice. Continuing medical education maintenance of certification self-assessment credit for the literature reviews is available through APSA’s ExPERT CME Program. View the Trauma Committee Literature Reviews.

Statement on Firearm Injuries and Children

Approved by the APSA Board of Governors and Membership – May 4, 2013. Read the statement.

Members

Peter W. Dillon – Liaison
Penn State Health, Milton S. Hershey Med. Ctr., Penn State College of Medicine
pdillon1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu

Jeffrey S. Upperman – Chair
Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt
jeffrey.upperman@vumc.org

Christian J. Streck – Vice Chair
Medical University of South Carolina
streck@musc.edu

Shannon L. Castle – Member
Valley Children’s Hospital
scastle@valleychildrens.org

Vincent P. Duron – Member
NewYork Presbyterian-Columbia University
vd2312@cumc.columbia.edu

Brett W. Engbrecht – Member
Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital
bengbrec@yahoo.com

Mauricio A. Escobar – Member
Mary Bridge Children’s Hospital/Ped Surg
me038372@me.com

Adam S. Gorra – Member
Sanford Children’s Hospital
adam.gorra@sanfordhealth.org

Yosef J. Greenspon – Member
SSM Cardinal Glennon Children’s Medical Center
jgreenspon@gmail.com

Harsh Grewal – Member
St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children
harsh.grewal@towerhealth.org

Brian Hosfield – Member
Indiana University
bdhosfie@iu.edu

Frieda M. Hulka – Member
Western Surgical Group
fhulka@westernsurgical.com

Mubeen Jafri – Member
Oregon Health & Science University
jafri@ohsu.edu

Aaron R. Jensen – Member
UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland
aaron.jensen@ucsf.edu

Stephanie A. Jones – Member
University of Nevada Las Vegas
stephanie.jones@unlv.edu

Alfred P. Kennedy – Member
Janet Weis Children’s Hosp
apkennedy@geisinger.edu

Denise B. Klinkner – Member
Mayo Clinic
dbklinkner@gmail.com

Ann M. Kulungowski – Member
Children’s Hospital Colorado
ann.kulungowski@childrenscolorado.org

Charlotte Kvasnovsky – Member
Cohen Children’s Medical Center
ckvasno@gmail.com

Carrie A. Laituri – Member
Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital
carrielaituri@yahoo.com

Shannon W. Longshore – Member
ECU School of Medicine
longshores@ecu.edu

Kendall McEachron – Member
University of Minnesota
kendallm@umn.edu

Christopher R. Newton – Member
UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland
christopher.newton@ucsf.edu

David M. Notrica – Member
Phoenix Children’s Hospital
dnotrica@phoenixchildrens.com

Emily J. Onufer – Member
Washington University General Surgery
ejonufer@gmail.com

Ryan Phillips – Member
ryan.phillips@childrenscolorado.org

James M. Prieto – Member
jprieto4570@gmail.com

Kennith Sartorelli – Member
Univ of Vermont
kennith.sartorelli@vtmednet.org

Chethan J. Sathya – Member
Cohen Children’s Medical Center, Northwell Health, New York
chethan.sathya@gmail.com

Ryan G. Spurrier – Member
ryanspurriermd@gmail.com

Chad M. Thorson – Member
University of Miami
cthorson@med.miami.edu

Sandra S. Tomita – Member
New York Univ School of Medicine
sstomita@me.com

Kim Wallenstein – Member
mendelsk@upstate.edu

Regan F. Williams – Member
LeBonheur Children’s Hospital
rfwillia@uthsc.edu

Hale E. Wills – Member
halewills@gmail.com