Select Page


APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on “View Committee” below.

Learn how to serve on an APSA committee

Affiliate Membership Task Force

View Committee

Jessica Kandel – Chair

Audit Committee

View Committee

Michael J. Allshouse – Chair
Colin G. Knight – Vice Chair

Benjy Brooks Committee

View Committee

Marion C. Henry – Chair
Erin E. Perrone – Vice Chair


View Committee

Jessica J. Kandel – Chair


View Committee

Peter F. Ehrlich – Chair
David A. Rodeberg – Vice Chair

Childhood Obesity

View Committee

Mark L. Wulkan – Chair
Thomas H. Inge – Vice Chair

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

View Committee

Erika A. Newman – Chair
Cynthia Reyes – Vice Chair

Education Committee

View Committee

Steven L. Lee – Chair
Eunice Y. Huang – Vice Chair


View Committee

Patrick J. Javid – Chair
Erica M. Carlisle – Vice Chair

Fetal Diagnosis and Treatment

View Committee

Rony Marwan – Chair
Darrell L. Cass – Vice Chair


View Committee

Marjorie J. Arca – Chair

Global Pediatric Surgery

View Committee

Tamara Fitzgerald – Chair
Sanjay Krishnaswami – Vice Chair

Health Policy and Advocacy

View Committees

Kathryn D. Bass – Chair
Kenneth W. Gow – Vice Chair

History Committee

View Committee

Don K. Nakayama – Chair
Kristen A. Zeller – Vice Chair

Industry and Institutional Advisory

View Committee

James D. Geiger – Chair
Thomas H. Inge – Vice Chair

Membership & Credentials

View Committee

Kevin P. Mollen – Chair
Samuel Z. Soffer – Vice Chair

New Technology

View Committee

Nam Nguyen – Chair
Bethany J. Slater – Vice Chair


View Committee

Dave R. Lal – Chair

Optimum Regional and Specialty Access

View Committee

Mary E. Fallat – Chair

Outcomes and Evidence-Based Practice

View Committee
Eblast Subcommittee
IT/Website Subcommittee
Survey Subcommittee

Shawn D. St. Peter – Chair
Robert J. Baird – Vice Chair

Practice Committee

View Committee

John C. Bleacher – Chair
Mauricio A. Escobar – Vice Chair

Professional Development Committee

View Committee

Craig W. Lillehei – Chair
Charles L. Snyder – Chair


View Committee

Casey M. Calkins – Chair
Kathleen Van Leeuwen – Vice Chair


View Committee

Cassandra M. Kelleher – Chair
Romeo C. Ignacio – Vice Chair
Adam M. Vogel – Vice Chair

Research Committee

View Committee

Agostino Pierro – Chair
Shaun M. Kunisaki – Vice Chair

Right Child/Right Surgeon Task Force

View Committee

John Waldhausen – Chair

Surgical Critical Care

View Committee

Alexander Feliz – Chair
Laura A. Boomer – Vice Chair

Surgical Quality & Safety

View Committee
Quality in Value Award Subcommittee

Mehul V. Raval – Chair
Monica E. Lopez – Vice Chair


View Committee

Jeffrey S. Upperman – Chair
Christian J. Streck – Vice Chair

Wellness Committee

View Committee

Mary L. Brandt – Chair
Kurt F. Heiss – Vice Chair


View Committee
Transplantation Subcommittee

Samuel M. Alaish – Chair
Abigail E. Martin – Vice Chair