Select Page


Jay Grosfeld, MD Scholar Grant Recipients

The American Pediatric Surgical Association Foundation encourages the enrichment of pediatric surgeon scientists by providing support for projects which will broaden the horizon of the recipient in a fashion not otherwise readily achieved and for which funds may not be available from usual current sources. The APSA Foundation welcomes proposals for support of projects that encompass the humanities, medical ethics, education, clinical epidemiology, biostatistics, health care delivery, computer sciences, as well as clinical or laboratory research as they relate to the surgical sciences or to the delivery of pediatric surgical care and may include traveling fellowships or special scholarships.. 

“The APSA Foundation Grant has offered me the opportunity to focus my initial research efforts on finding new treatments for challenging diseases in Pediatric Surgery such as necrotizing enterocolitis. Due to this funding, I have been able to complete significant preliminary studies which have formed the basis for competitive national grants. The APSA Foundation is making a great investment in the future of Pediatric Surgery and Pediatric Surgery Research.”


Cynthia D. Downard, MD, MMScCurrent Management of Pediatric Pilonidal Disease: A Perspective Multicenter Surgeon-Choice Cohort Study

University of Louisville, Kentucky, USA
2010 APSA Foundation Scholar


Allison L. Speer, MD
McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, Houston, Texas
Defining the Role of the Enteric Nervous System in Epithelial Barrier Function in Human Intestinal Organoids
Awarded $25,000

Christa N. Grant, MD
Penn State Children’s Hospital, Hershey Medical Center, Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contactin 1: A Potential Biomarker and Therapeutic Target in High Risk Neuroblastoma
Awarded $25,000

Emily Partridge, MD
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Study of Cerebral Autoregulation in Pumpless Arteriovenous Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation
Awarded $25,000


Alex G. Cuenca, MD, PhD
Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, MA
The Role of Adjuvant Induced Myeloid-Derived Suppressor Cells in Allograft Tolerance
Awarded $25,000

Alejandro Garcia, MD
Johns Hopkins Children’s Center, Baltimore, MD
Improving Reperfusion Injury in Pediatric Cardiac Arrest Using a Porcine Model of ECPR
Awarded $25,000

Beth A. Rymeski, DO
Cincinnati Children’s Hosiptal Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH
Current Management of Pediatric Pilonidal Disease: A Prospective Multicenter Surgeon-Choice Cohort Study
Awarded $25,000


Catherine Hunter, MD
Ann and Robert Lurie Children’s Hospital, Chicago, IL 
Defining the Role of ROCK in Necrotizing Enterocolitis
Awarded $25,000

Amar Nijagal, MD
The University of California San Francisco, San Francisco, CA Fetal Mechanisms of Liver and Bile Duct Repair: A Link to the Prenatal Origins of Biliary Atresia
Awarded $25,000


Andrew J. Murphy, MD
“Genomic Analysis of Bilateral Wilms Tumors” 
Awarded $25,000

Isam W. Nasr, MD
“Prevention and Treatment of Traumatic Brain Injury by Inhibition of TLR4 Signaling in a Murine Model” 
Awarded $25,000


Helen Hsieh, MD
“Effect of Midazolam on the Developmental and Maturation of Hippocampal Neuronal Circuitry”
Awarded $25,000

Elisabeth T. Tracy, MD
“Bleeding and Thrombosis in Infants and Children”
Awarded $25,000


William H. Peranteau, MD
In Utero Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation for the Treatment of Congenital Disorders”
Awarded $25,000

Bradley J. Segura, MD
“The role of Enteric Glia in Pediatric Intestinal Inflammation”
Awarded $25,000


Hannah Piper, MD
“The Role of Intestinal Microbiota in Children with Intestinal Failure and Bacterial Overgrowth”
Awarded $25,000

David Stitelman, MD
In-utero Delivery of Synthetic Nanoparticles for Gene Editing in the Central Nervous System”
Awarded $25,000


Ankush Gosain, MD
“Splenic Neurovascular Units in Hirschsprung’s Associated Enterocolitis”
Awarded $25,000

David Gourlay, MD
“IAP Prevents Intestinal Inflammation in the Newborn Intestine”
Awarded $25,000

Shawn Larson, MD
“Inflammasome Activation is Critical for Neonatal Emergency Myelopoiesis and Expansion of Hematopoietic Stem Cells for Inflammation”
Awarded $25,000


Harold N. Lovvorn, III, MD
“Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells for the Study of Wilms’ Tumorigenesis”
Awarded $25,000

Kuo Jen Tsao, MD
“Errors and Adverse Events in the Setting of the Neonatal Surgery Performed in the NICU”
Awarded $25,000


Shaun M. Kunisaki, MD
“Mesenchymal Stem Cell Regulation of Fetal Lung Development in Diaphragmatic Hernia”
Awarded $25,000

Peter F. Nichol, MD
“Using a Genetic Model of Duodenal Atresia to Understand Regenerative Mechanisms within the Intestine”
Awarded $25,000


Cynthia D. Downard, MD
“Control of Intestinal Microcirculation in NEC”
Awarded $25,000

Cassandra M. Kelleher, MD
“Extracellular components Critical to Alveolarization: Contributions of Elastin”
Awarded $25,000


Tippi C. MacKenzie, MD
“Maternal Immune Response in Utero Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation”
Awarded $25,000

Kelly A. Miller, MD
“The Pathogenic Role of Enteric Glia in Hirschsprung’s Enterocolitis”
Awarded $25,000


Douglas N. Miniati, MD
“Role of Notch4 Signaling in Aberrant Pulmonary Vascular Development”
Awarded $25,000


Allan M. Goldstein, MD
“Role of Sonic Hedgehog in Enteric Nervous System Development” 
Awarded $25,000


James C.Y. Dunn, MD
“Enteric Nervous System Regeneration for Hirschsprung’s Disease”
Awarded $25,000


Elizabeth A. Beierle, MD
“Focal Adhesion Kinase and Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor-3 in Human Neuroblastoma”
Awarded $10,000

Kerilyn K. Nobuhara, MD
“Intestinal Dysmotility in Fetal Repair of Gastroschisis”
Awarded $10,000


Karl G. Sylvester, MD
“Liver Regeneration and Stem Cell Regulation via the WNT Signaling Pathway”
Awarded $10,000

Christopher K. Breuer, MD
“Do Tissue Engineered Venous Conduits Grow? Investigating the Growth Potential of Tissue Engineered Venous Conduits in a Juvenile Lamb Model”
Awarded $10,000


Peter F. Ehrlich, MD
“Injury Prevention through Brief Intervention: A Novel Approach to Pediatric Injury Prevention”
Awarded $10,000


Mary Beth Madonna, MD
“Growth Factor Receptor Signaling and its Relationship to Cell Proliferation and Differentiation in a Neuroblastoma Cell Line”
Awarded $10,000


Anthony Stallion, MD
“Intestinal Ischemia Reperfusion Injury Contributes to the Initiation of the Systemic Inflammatory Response Syndrome”
Awarded $10,000


Edward M. Barksdale Jr., MD
“The Therapy of Neuroblastoma-Induced Disorders of Dendropoiesis of Dendritic Cell Development”
Awarded $10,000


Steven Stylianos, MD 
“Evidence-Based Guidelines for Resource Utilization in Pediatric Spleen/Liver Injury”
Awarded $5,000


Gail E. Besner, MD
“Heparin-Binding EGF-Like Growth Factor (HBEGF) and Intestinal Ischemia Reperfusion Injury”
Awarded $7,500


Charles N. Paidas, MD 
“Septation of the Cloaca”
Awarded $8,000


Michael G. Caty, MD 
“Preservation of Intestinal Mucosal Structure and Function with Intraluminal Oxygenated Perfluorocarbon”
Awarded $9,825